Home | Sponsors | Photo Feature | Media Coverage

KPMG-Infrastructure Today Awards 2008
The event, India's first ever infrastructure awards, the KPMG - Infrastructure Today Awards 2008 was a grand success.
Our Chief Guest, Montek Singh Ahluwalia, arrived 15 minutes earlier and stayed till the end of the program. Jury members included Arun Nanda, Vice Chairman, Mahindra Lifespaces, Suresh Prabhu, ex-Power Minister, Luis Miranda, CEO, IDFC Equity , Pradeep Singh, Vice Chairman, IDFC Projects & Mr. SS Kohli, CMD, IIFCl . Jury members Mr. Kohli, Mr. Mahajan and Mr. Pradeep Singh explained the criteria before each segment's awards were announced. All awardees spoke on the challenges and about their achievements. Montek Singh lauded all of them and was pleased with the effort of showcasing success in the virgin area of infrastructure. The function began sharp at 7:30 pm and broke for cocktails and dinner at 9 pm. G.M.Rao was clearly the star attraction. Not only did he win the praise of the Chief Guest and the magazine as "Infrastructure Person of the Year" but was also sought after during the cocktails. In all over 220 invitees attended the event. Amongst awardees, the following recd the awards:

Most admired infrastructure financier: State Bank of India...........Mr. Hemant Contractor, Deputy Managing Director

Most admired enabler – Power: Power Finance Corporation..........Mr. Satnam Singh, CMD

Most admired enabler – Transport: Ministry for Civil Aviation....Mr. M. Nambiar, Secretary, Ministry of Civil Aviation

Most admired State Level PPP (Public Private Partnership) – Gujarat Infrastructure Development Board...Mr. A.K.Sharma, CEO

Most admired company – Power (Conventional: Tata Power.....Mr. Sunil Wadhwa, CEO & ED, North Delhi Power Ltd.

Most admired company – Power (non conventional): Suzlon Energy....Mr. Harish Mehta, Director, Suzlon Energy

Most admired company – Transport: GMR Group....Mr. G.M.Rao, Chairman

Most admired company – Overall infrastructure: Larsen & Toubro...Mr. K.R. Palta, VP, L&T

Mr GM Rao, Chairman, GMR Ltd received the award under the category Infrastructure Person of the Year.

Our Chief Guest implored us to hold this event on an annual basis which we surely will do .

© COPYRIGHT 2008 All Rights Reserved www.constructionupdate.com